Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.5 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Struhall builds a Class 1 Ford

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2015, 01:37 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Struhall builds a Class 1 Ford

Figured it was time to start a build thread for my first real class specific build. I have always wanted to drive a Ford Excursion but they are just a touch too expensive for me at the moment so what better way to fix the issue than build a scale truck.

The problem with this is that NOBODY makes an Excursion body. After some research I found out that the 1:1 Excursion and F250/350 single cab have the exact same wheelbase and overall dimensions so the Tamiya F350 body was perfect. I will have a full interior by the time I feel like I am “done” but I may rock it without for a bit just in case I get antsy and can’t wait.

This is going to be a slow build, up until today and the next two weeks I work as a cook at a restaurant making garbage money but I start a new job in two weeks making double the money.

The items I have so far are pretty basic but almost everything I need to go.
TCS X-Trail Chassis
AE5 ESC
Axial 27t or Novak 35t motor
Wraith Trans with slipper eliminator
Tamiya leaf springs
1.55 Mud Thrashers on RC4WD steel wheels
Spektrum TX/RX

I still need to purchase a few things.
Front motor setup (moving stock one or RC4WD with transfer case)
Lights
3s batteries
Servo winch

Picked up a body and got to work.

First things first, I have to figure out this whole styrene mess. Picked up some styrene and some bondene at my local hobby shop and started small so I molded the cab to the bed.

That is where it started to get interesting. I put a support across the back and then the bottom of the bed fell out…

Followed by the back of the cab…

I guess that meant it was time to start building a rear section of the body. Started with the sides, glued them to the inside of the body.

And added a roof.