Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Max Speed Technology CMX

Notices

Thread: MST-CMX (Finally) 1.55 build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2016, 09:48 AM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default MST-CMX (Finally) 1.55 build

Finally, after a months wait, 7 post offices, and 2 signatures later, it finally arrived.

Very excited to build this up!! Been a while for a full build thread. Hopefully some helpful pics and measurements for others who are looking at this kit.

I've never built an MST before, so not sure what to expect. Open the box and found some nice goodies - looks like a towel and calendar, along with directions, exploded views, and a lot of very nicely packaged parts. Good stuff. On a side note, the dates on my part bags were QC dated 1/25, and my kit shipped 1/27.

Clearly this kit is designed for Tamiya bodies, listing the wheelbases for each body. Parts are insdie for the 242 and 257mm wheelbases, so this kit will accomodate the LC40, Bronco, Pajero (both Lexan and ABS,) Wrangler, Amigo, and Unimog bodies. The FJ Cruiser, CRV, and Toureag require longer links.

Directions are clear for the most part, and have lots of nice little tips here and there.

Nice tip...

Tires are the top thing in the box, and the first thing I always pull out and play with. The tires are 1.9, 90mmx30mm almost exactly.

Compared to a 1.55 Mud Thrasher, and 1.9 Dirt Grabber

Tires come with a soft foam, and feel pretty grippy. Very nicely molded overall. Not planning to use theme here, but they will for sure get used somewhere.

Starting off with the links - I'm not sure about the plastic links...but they seem sturdy and they are not exactly super long so we'll see how they hold up. If you are looking for some custom links, lengths (measured from the centers of the pivot balls) are:

Steering Links: 127mm and 75mm

242mm wb: 77mm upper, 89mm lowers front and rear
252mm wb: 77mm upper, 89mm lowers front, and 87mm Upper and 109mm lower