Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Project "what am i doin?" Hummer Pickup

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2009, 10:32 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default Project "what am i doin?" Hummer Pickup

Well, this is my first time playin with styrene and cutting up plastic bodies. Been itchin to do a scale build and couldnt wait for my SCX10TR to hurry up and get here so I took my tired Tamiya Hummer and started messin with it. Im terrible at this but Im learnin and havin a blast so far! Im startin to get the hang of cutting and glueing styrene as well as build the proper parts. This build wont have much to do with the chassis, itll prolly stay stock but I wanted to learn the basics and give the hummer a make-over. If you have any tips or tricks, throw em out there! Lemme know what you guys think!!!

The tired beginnings, had plenty of fun with this truck when i first got it years ago...hence why its still around i guess. Dont mind the wheels, I used to run these for fun. Original Hummer wheels are on it now

Notice the front lower valence missing...it gets somewhat fixed later

Matt
66sprint6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-27-2009, 10:33 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Tapin it up for some cutting! Thats right, 2 door pickup, not 4!!! Im excited now!

I was skeptical...but it actually works. String cutting FTW!

The look im goin for. Cant find very many pics at all but Im doin what I can. I doubt itll be perfectly scale to the original, but itll look good and be fun to drive and thats all I care about.

Now its time to start puttin it back together. More to come shortly!
Matt
Old 09-27-2009, 10:46 PM   #3
RCC Addict

Ok...now that ive learned the beauty of cuttin with string, its time to play with Styrene. All I can say is this stuff is AWESOME!!! Im learnin as I go and lovin every second of it. Any tips and tricks would be appreciated. ANYways, here we go...