Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Range Rover Classic on SXC10

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2011, 12:56 AM   #1

Default Range Rover Classic on SXC10

Hello

My name is Roland, I'm from Austria, and I'm pretty new at this RC-Car thing.

Usually I'm working on my 1:1 Range Rover Classic

But in the last winter I found this forum, and some really amazing builds!!!

So I thought: lets give it a try! and do something different then I do usual!

My wife wasn't so happy about my decision to make the kitchentable my new workbench . But I was so busy with working on my new rig, that her "no-sex-punishment" wasn't so hard as she thought!

Ok, so I just bought a new sxc10 RTR and ordered a 1:10 range rover body from Newzealand. I found this body here in a other build thread and thought it would be a good start.
As the body arrived, I found out that I'm really a bloody beginner.
The body was much tooooooooooooooooo small for the sxc chassis.

So I had to do something differnt. I remembered some really amazing scratch builds out of styrene an other materials. So I just started to cut out some pieces of a plate and glued them together

Ok. that was fun. so I thought I could go on. I scaled side-front and top view from my 1:1 Range rover to fit the SXC. Luckily the wheelbase to axle width ratio was almost perfect, so i just had to scale everthing by 1:8,1

finally I got some paint on it. but i was still missing real headlights and other details

And at the moment it looks like this. For sure I have to paint the rims of the 1:1 white or grey, but its still to cold here.

I'm pretty happy with my first RC-car. But I know there are many points to improve.
I think I will start a completly new body. Now I know some new workinig techniques, and i think i can improve the overall look on some points.