Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Project Lovell Racing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2012, 11:54 AM   #1
RCC Addict

Default Lovell Racing Inspired Ultra 4 rig

If i could own any 1:1, it would be the lovell's, but GM LSX powered of course. I've wanted to build this rig for years and years it seems but I never quite knew where to start. I originally thought i'd build it around the artin ranger and make it 1/6 scale, but that idea was obviously going no where and i don't really care for the larger scale stuff. So i got a crazy idea and decided i don't need the body to replicate the truck . I started drawing the wheels/tires and scaling it from there, figured that was my best bet to keep everything proportional.

Tech:
I'll add more to this when i know what i'll be using.
-1.9 Mayhem/1.9 Trepadors
-RC4WD Black Widow Axles
-RC4wd 100mm KING Shocks
-3 Link front w/ panhard. 4 rear
-Axial trans w/ HR steel gears, 32p 60T spur, 12T 32 p novak 5mm pinion.
-RC4wd hammer t-case
-MMP/Pro4 3300kv
-Hitec 7955tg servo
-1/8" steel rod (it's lighter than 3/16" brakeline fyi, looks skinnier but goes well with this build)
-Shaved axial wraith seats
-MIP scx drivelines
-Gearhead TORCH lightbar

Body:
Fenders/bedsides from tamiya tundra the rest styrene.

First off, love for the 1:1

I drew the overall rig to scale from a side view a couple times then decided which one resembled it the closest. For complex brazing like this, if i want to keep it straight, and come close to resembling what i'm aiming for, i must draw it to scale.

Mock up, make sure it doesn't look completely out of proportion. This roller was a tundra that i started out into a koh rig but didn't like where it was going so it sat for 6 months and i chopped it all off to start this.

Once you have the sideview and top view drawn out, things go very fast and smooth. This is as far as i had it before yesterday.