Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Sam's Baja Bug

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 11:20 AM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Sam's Baja Bug

Hey there kids, first build thread on here so go easy on me, Im still a noob as they say.

Goal here is to build a fun class 1 scaler that performs well. At NWSN one of the rigs that really stood out for me was Diffusers luv bug so I owe the theme of this build to him really. The body is a Tamiya sand scorcher, super light and thin feeling, hope it holds up.

Electronics will be Tekin FXR esc, HH 13t CM, 4PL tx/rx, Hitec 7950 steering servo with a CC BEC, solar 772 servo winch on 3s through a tekin B1R esc and finally I will be using max amps 860 mah lipos.

For a quick and easy starting point I picked up a dingo kit. I will be using RC4wds hammer t-case flipped for a big overdrive on the front end. Axles will have the good steel gears and hot racing lockers. Right now the front end has the XR10 mod but have ax10 super 300s coming so I will finally get to use the VP 8 deg hubs and knuckles I ordered for my wraith before I knew any better. For weight and durability both axles will have beef tubes, the only way to go I think. Drive lines will be mips but will be using stock ones for mock up.

Shocks will be proline scaler shocks and links will be 3/16 ti with revo ends.

So here are some pics of wasted weekend number 1 . Did the same chop as Dan but added a full inch instead of 3/4, dont want to bend the rules too much, haha. This was my first attempt at working with styrene and I must say I have a new found appreciation for a lot of guys on here that make it look easy. Right now Im just trying to get it to stick and body filler will be my friend later I guess.

sam63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-27-2013, 11:24 AM   #2

Default Re: Sam's Baja Bug

Looks good so far! What did you use to waterproof your servo?