Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Guzzy the RED TJ Build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2013, 09:17 AM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Guzzy the RED TJ Build

So I had been wheeling SCX10s with the lexan body for a few years and it was time to go hardbody. So I started a new rc build earlier this year. I had been wanting to weld up a full cage for my scx10 JK, but didnt want to cut out the roof and build an interior. So I found a used 1/10 TJ body in the classifieds and the build has begun. First of all in order to include the interior you have to eliminate the typical transmission location. I opted for a divorced setup from GCM and planned to use their motor mount as well.

Here is my jeep and my inspiration for a red TJ build. This build will be a bit more extreme than my real jeep, but I dont have to drive this RC to work!

Here is a teaser pic with the body just sitting on the frame.

the first step was sticker removal

Did a little bit of plastic experimenting to try to see if my body work idea would work. I had seen plenty of posts on here about people having trouble getting styrene to stick to the Newbright TJ bodies.

My original plan was to stretch the body using two TJ tubs and glue them together with a bit of styrene work. I soon changed my plan.

here is another sticker off shot

At this point I was worried about my bodywork holding together and also, how I was going to fit a steering servo up under the grill while still having my wheelbase stretched where I wanted it.

Last edited by skerb; 07-26-2013 at 09:29 AM.
skerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-26-2013, 09:22 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Guzzy the RED TJ Build

my Tcase and motor mount came in from GCM and I found that I wasnt going to be able to use the motor mount like I had planned because there would be no room for a servo behind the grill and in front of the spur. So on to plan B