Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Custom SCX10 rear roll cage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2015, 04:16 PM   #1

Default Custom SCX10 rear roll cage

So building a cage for my scx10 has been in my mind for a few months and today was the warmest its been for a long time (25F) and so I jumped on the opportunity. I used all 3/16 steel rod and bent it by hand. It was an awesome experience and I loved making it. I am very happy with the outcome and will either paint it black or clear coat i soon.

http://youtu.be/NeVN3Tg23NQ
rcman219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-26-2015, 04:29 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: Custom SCX10 rear roll cage

Is that your cage in the video? Very nice. I used to weld for a living, but I don't have a welder or a workshop in which to weld. Do you think a cage made of soldered together solid brass rod will hold up to tumbles?
rcntncrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 09:39 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcntncrawler View Post
Is that your cage in the video? Very nice. I used to weld for a living, but I don't have a welder or a workshop in which to weld. Do you think a cage made of soldered together solid brass rod will hold up to tumbles?
Yes brass should hold up. People make bumpers out of brass tube so it must be strong enough. I'd recommend brazing it with an oxy-acetaline tourch instead of "soldering" it. Also make sure the brass is thick enough, or try to find solid rod so it will resist bending more than a hollow tube.
Old 02-27-2015, 03:19 PM   #4
Rock Crawler

brass is soft....if you brace the hell out of it it might not bend, or using it on 1/18 or smaller scale should work ( not as heavy as 1/10) the way to go is use brake line or steel tubing and braze it.

Cheers,
Wade
Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 03:47 PM   #5
Pebble Pounder