Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Hacked up clod on leafs

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2016, 11:37 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Hacked up clod on leafs

This is my first build, first time brazing, and lots of other firsts. I've had this pile of parts sitting and an idea in my head for the past year or more.
I wanted a leaf sprung clod based scale crawler, and wound up going out and getting a GCM 4Ten chassis with some goodies, some Yota 2 axles, and a bunch of other little things. Then I realized the width on the Yota 2 axles didnt work with the 4ten frame, so it sat.

My SCX10 JK was torn completely down, and so I decided to start just hacking up the frame and using that as my base. Here is my start so far. I'm just winging it as I go along, so any and all input from experienced builders is appreciated.

So the plan is to basically make this a loosely SCX10 based rig. I'll be using the frame rails from the SCX10, the electronics, and possibly the trans/transfer case.
The 4ten setup will be up for sale unless I can salvage parts for this build. Let me know if you're interested in that!

So here's some of my first ever brazes, I think they should hold. I'm boxing in the frame and using leaf spring hangers/shackles from RC4WD.

Here's my placement of my rear axle, hows it look? I'm wondering if these shackle angles are going to be ok

This is my thought on wheelbase as I was playing around. This seems a tiny bit too long.

My problem with the front axle though is to keep the ride height with the rear I dont know what I'm going to do for shackles. The leaf eyelets need to be right where the frame is basically

I got the other side of the frame caught up, and this is a better shot of the shackle angles. I drilled the holes for the shackles so everything is bolted/mocked up for the rear basically.

Taking another look at the wheelbase, this seems a little short
fl0w3n is offline   Reply With Quote