Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Flyingwil' 2dr JK build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2017, 11:48 AM   #1

Default Flyingwil' 2dr JK build

I'm fairly new to this whole RC thing. It all started with years of me asking the wife for an SCX10 for Christmas for years in a row. Last year guess what was under the tree? Yup I was hooked... hook line and sinker. Now having 4 SCX10's it was time to graduate... So this Christmas I asked for a China JK body, and boom under the tree it was in all its glory.

So being new to the whole building thing, I couldn't figure out how shoehorn an SCX10 chassis under it. I'm hoping that in a few years I can look back and laugh at myself for saying that! With that said, I set off to find a chassis that I could make work with my skill set. Someone in the local RC club had a GCM J2 Skeleton up for sale so I snagged that one up as soon as I saw it!

It came with a front and rear bumper and cage for the JK. Albeit not perfect, it's a start. The J2 chassis didn't even have a scratch on the links! I considered my self lucky to find this gem.

I'm pretty impressed with the chassis fit and finish. So now it's off to the parts shelves and bins to see what spares I'll be plucking off the shelf to build this guy up. I'm still torn between C1 and C2 for overall build, I'll figure that out soon enough.

So off to the kitchen I went to get a, um, beverage, and I dig the 1.9's under it. These are modified Mickey Thompson wheels and look awesome under the Jeep (body is just sitting on tires. So what's modified about those wheels/tires? Silicone instead of foams:

I might just leave them on the shelf for my other C2.

So the dilemma was now axles. Yeah, what should I grab? Since I'll be competing with it, this is what got plucked out of the shelving bins: