Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: K10 Chevy Short Box Build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2017, 10:05 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default K10 Chevy Short Box Build

As soon as RC4WD released the Blazer body kit, I knew I HAD to have one. I bought myself a Trail Finder 2 and put the Blazer body kit on. Super fun truck and will keep that for a long time. However, I really wanted a K10, and thought that RC4WD would eventually end up releasing a body kit. Well, I'm tired of waiting so I'm taking it into my own hands! This is my first time ever working with styrene so I'm hoping it works out.

I am putting an Axial SCX10 II chassis under this body, as I wanted a 1.9 truck with a linked suspension setup since I already have the 1.55 / leaf sprung truck in my TF2.

I won't bore you with the kit build. In a nutshell, it's a stock chassis with Incision stainless links (weight), ARB diff covers, and aftermarket wheels and tires.

Starting with the cab rear made out of styrene:

I originally really wanted to make a truggy using a Vaterra rear cage, however it just didn't match the body lines as I'd hoped it would. I grabbed some round steel stock from a local hardware store and tried to bend it (have a friend who is awesome at brazing) but it just wasn't working for me and I didn't have the motivation to keep trying with it. I kept looking at the box that was sitting on the shelf next to me and thought I'd try my hand at styrene work and extend the box a bit instead of going the truggy route, and making a truck. Here's the cage:

As you can see it just didn't line up well. No problem, the box will (hopefully) look good too!

Last edited by LSXGMC; 05-14-2017 at 10:12 PM.
LSXGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-14-2017, 10:07 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: My Hard Body K10 Chevy Short Box