Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Sammy's New Bright/GCM JK build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2015, 07:41 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Sammy's New Bright/GCM JK build

I'm new to this hobby and building trucks, so this won't be one of the "expert" builds. Rather, it will be a new guy working his way through his first build that isn't a pre-engineered kit.

I decided to post this build because I have gotten so much valuable information from reading the other builds on here, and maybe someone will find something on this thread that will help them.

I also would appreciate any constructive advice on how to proceed with this project.

It all started when I walked into my local "Crawler" hobby shop, The Crawl Space, and saw this truck for $85.00. It seemed like a fair price. Little did I contemplate that it would lead to many hundreds of dollars worth of investment in this truck!

I started by removing the body from the chassis and removing the paper decals that came on the body.

Sammy J. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-27-2015, 07:58 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: Sammy's New Bright/GCM JK build

Next I wanted to remove the New Bright lettering from the windshield. I read here that a lot of guys had good luck using non-acetone nail polish remover.

This is what I used. I got it at Walgreens.

It worked well. If you get the reflection of light just right on the windshield you can still see a very light "ghosting" of the letters, but overall I'm happy with the results.

Last edited by Sammy J.; 11-27-2015 at 08:20 AM.
Old 11-27-2015, 08:43 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper