Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Ordered new custom Truggy Chassis

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2017, 02:35 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default Ordered new custom Truggy Chassis

So I just ordered a custom truggy chassis from Trojen RC Fab. I found him on Instagram and really liked his stuff. He is on Facebook as well. Based up in New Hampshire. Anyway, this is my first build in the 1.9 scale arena and I'm really looking forward to it. The chassis that I ordered takes the TrailFinder or Hilux cab. I should have it in about 2 weeks and will post some pics. In the meantime, I've been busying myself creating a parts list.

I've been hemming on hawing on what axles to go with. Any suggestions? I've been eyeing Vanquish and I know it's hard to go wrong there, but damn the $! I do have all this coming Winter to build, so I can buy stuff a little at a time which will help.

Anyway, as far as being a "newb" for a first completely custom build, I guess I'm just wondering if there any big "gotchas" I should look out for? Other than spending way too much $ of course!
mewalsh100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-31-2017, 04:38 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Ordered new custom Truggy Chassis

There aren't any real perils to be afraid of. Just realize very few things will fit first time without modification. Be ready for a slow build and having to customize lots of parts. Having the right tools will save you a ton of aggravation. A good file, Dremel, and soldering iron can get you pretty far.

For axles I can't say enough good things about the new SSD Pro44 axles. They are super scale, super tough, and butter smooth. I just built a set starting from zero parts and the build total for the pair of axles was around $250. I used all SSD parts except for the Axial Universal Shafts and Axial Rear Shafts.
ElChupacabra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 05:53 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave