Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Ruining a perfectly good Cross Demon SG4

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2018, 08:25 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Ruining a perfectly good Cross Demon SG4

Welcome to the thread in which I make a Cross Demon look about 50 years old in far less actual time than that... probably. I've become very interested in weathering, so the purpose of this build is to try out a bunch of different weathering techniques I've never tried before. Buckle up, its gonna be a real art project. Follow along while I struggle to make a thing worse than I found it.

I picked the Demon because it has some nice detail and I was curious about the brand. The body design has grown on me since I first saw it, like an angry mutated version of a Toyota hilux. I'm not one to get excited over packaging but the little demon head on the box is neat.

I went with the SG4B model, which is one level below the flagship SG4C model. The main difference here is plastic axle housings, which will work fine for what we're trying to accomplish. I would feel bad about covering the aluminum axles in fake grime and rust.

Others have done unboxings so I won't bother, but after sorting through all the parts, this is my favorite detail:

You see that? Metal knuckle bushings! They didn't have to do that, they could have went cheap and put plastic there like some other brands (*cough* Axial *cough cough*). It makes it seem like they actually care and I appreciate that, especially considering this isn't the most expensive version.

Next up are the wheels. They are nice... too nice for the worn-out junk this truck will be. ..

...THESE are much more like it. Uncoated steel, so hopefully I can grow some real rust here the old-fashioned way instead of painting it on like a chump. This will be one of the first steps of the build.

Updates every sometimes.

Last edited by THX_138; 09-20-2018 at 08:58 PM.