Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Project Roughstock

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2020, 12:35 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Project Roughstock

So this will be the next project. I've had this for quite some time now and it has just been sitting around. I ordered it on a whim with no great expectations, well it took about a month and a half to get here. I was surprised it was better than i thought. The tube work was straight and the body was well done also. The only thing i didn't like was the tube was hollow and stainless steel. I was thinking i might replicate the chassis to solid round bar like other builds i've done, because i have zero experience welding on thin wall stainless tubing. Fast forward to now and i decided just to use the original chassis. I changed jobs and no time to stay after to do some welding, plus i still haven't bought a tig machine for home yet. So here goes. A couple of pics to get started.

First thing i started on was the front grill. I found one on shapeways, It's pretty cool. I've never seen or held a 3d printed part.

This is the original, not bad.

The front turn signals stick out a bit

So i had to flatten them down for the 3d printed part.

Here is the new grill, i think it looks way better!

Next thing i did was to drill and tap all the little tabs for m3 bolts. I got really tired of using m2.5 nuts and bolts. This made mock up and body on and off much easier.

And for some reason the front bumper had a sharp angle i kept poking myself with, out with the grinder. At some point i might cut the whole front bumper off and make my own.

I forgot to mention that i purchased just the body and chassis. Figured i didn't need all that other stuff. The scx10 skid bolts right in.

That's it for now. Need to figure out how to cover up the trans to make a more scale interior. The one provided is designed for a small transfer case.
venomous98 is offline   Reply With Quote