Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Jon's Baja Bug

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2022, 02:15 PM   #1

Default Jon's Baja Bug

This thread is about a new 1/10 scale build I'm doing. I'm kind of partial to Baja Bugs, and I've been gathering SCX-10 parts for a "from scratch" build for a few months. I was originally going to do a welded tube chassis, but I decided for now I'd rather have a scale truck build, since my Capra is basically already a tube chassis buggy.

This is a relatively low budget build - the axles & shocks are Injora, and a mix of other discount brands for everything else. The only quasi expensive part in the truck in the beginning will be the motor/esc, which is a Hobbywing Fusion 1800kv.

I have the Pro-Line Baja Bug body, which fits nicely.

The body is hinged in the back using a 3D printed hinge I designed.

If the hinge ends up not being strong enough, I will machine it out of aluminum. The 3D printed parts are all printed in ABS, so they are fairly strong.

I'm currently designing and printing a latch system for the body, so I don't have to worry about losing pins on the trail. The latch will be attached to the body, and to the battery tray, which is also 3D printed.

The Injora axles are portals, although the portals don't provide any gear reduction, but the definitely give a nice ground clearance boost. I'm running an Amazon aluminum 3-gear transmission.

I've set up the Injora internal-spring shocks to run at half-droop (using a pair of SCX24 springs in each shock). Not sure if I will keep them like that, time will tell.

I hope this will end up being a decent trail machine. I ran the bare chassis on an indoor rock crawling course, and it seemed to do pretty well, so I have high hopes.
JonHylands is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-08-2022, 02:16 PM   #2

Default Re: Jon's Baja Bug