Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 2.2 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Tamiya Bruiser restore log + seeking advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2011, 07:33 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Tamiya Bruiser restore log + seeking advice

Long-time lurker, seldom poster (so far). Hi all I have a Losi MRC that I've ghetto-modded including installing a 5800mAh NiMH battery system I built, completely waterproofed everything, 400 lumens spotties + LEDs, 4WS with front + rear Traxxas 2056 servos and a waterproof cooling system for stock ESC. Still haven't changed the body, but it has a few ARB stickers on it so that did the trick for me! Very happy with it and I enjoy exploring and playing in creeks and similar with my brother who also has a similarly-modded MRC, like the big kids we are!

Although I've done all the electronics and waterproofing myself, I'm still pretty new to RC (apart from 20+ years ago when I built my own Stadium Blitzer when they were still selling new). I'm good with the electronics but pretty average with body work, etc. Anway, to my story:

I picked up a tired and much-loved (abused?) Tamiya Bruiser the other day from a friend who didn't know what it was (I didn't know what it was at the time, either, knowing only that I was picking-up two RC vehicles sight-unseen that were otherwise going in the bin!). A little research and it turns out I have a highly sought-after truck, so that was a nice score, even if it is pretty tired! It came complete with 6ch original radio, Tamiya 6V 4000mAh battery and fast charger, so I plugged it all in over the weekend and everything seems to work, albeit with shagged batteries and servos near-death. Don't know if 4WD works yet, but the rear wheels turned at least (if slowly).

Some pics first:

Full-size: 1, 2, 3

Full-size: 4, 5, 6