Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 2.2 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: OS's Junkyard C3

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2017, 06:48 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default OS's Junkyard C3

While surfing the forums during morning coffee, I came across fr8cture's C3 build. Just looking at it, I can see there's no coin being spared on that one. Beautiful truck already and it's not even done.

I realized that we were basically building the same thing, but with 1 large exception - mine's a "whatever's laying around" type of build. A while ago I tore down 3 rigs that I was bored with, tired of, pissed at, or generally lost interest in and threw all the parts in a big bowl. Stirred in some creative juices and let it marinate overnight. I ended up deciding to build a Wroncho type rig since I've never done one before. Not really worried about scale so much as just wanting it to perform.

Havent been doing much with build threads since the whole photobucket debacle, but figured I'd give this one a go. Thought it'd be an interesting compare/contrast. Or good for a laugh - either/or!

So anyway, gotta start with a chassis. I had cut this a while ago for a CR01 build that I ran once in the yard and put on the shelf. The CR chassis has terrible steering with the normal wheelbase - stretching it a few inches didn't help. It has a lot of holes....they have purpose. Plus I like options! Trimmed it up a bit and got to mocking up. I wasn't going to bother to paint it, but it kinda looked like a rolling hardware store when I was mocking up so I flat blacked it and called it good. 19 inches long from bumper to rear.

Needed a t-case..Bent up some aluminum and mounted a converted Axial trans in typical standup fashion...but after a few mockups with various motor positions, I needed it to sit lower so I mounted it on the side. It's stuffed with steel gears of some variety. If this doesn't say "basement engineering" I don't know what does!