Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Axial AX-10 Scorpion
Loading

Notices

Thread: 4 Link Setup (mine, with pics)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2008, 01:46 PM   #1
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Joliet
Posts: 71
Default 4 Link Setup (mine, with pics)

Experienced guys....

I want to do a 4 link setup on the axial.
I have made the rear mount (similar to the TCS boomerang) and some side mounts so that I can use longer links (the original lower links actually, I have bent links now.)
Any opinions on if this will work or?
If it's going to be a hunk of crap I'll put it back to stock but if it will be better I will do it to the front too.



MattG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-26-2008, 01:57 PM   #2
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cotati
Posts: 705
Default

The idea looks like it should work, having the upper and lower link mount on the same plane. That bracket might be something to get hung up on though.
hellbentrodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 02:20 PM   #3
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 507
Default

Ya the bracket might get hung up but it seems like a good idea, or maybe you can put the bracket on the inside and button heads on the outside but you'll ptobably have to trim your skid plate. I know in 1.1 the upper links should be around 70% of the lower links (thanks Extreme 4x4). Try it out though.
Trimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 02:27 PM   #4
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Joliet
Posts: 71
Default

Thanks for the feedback guys.
MattG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 08:12 PM   #5
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: $t. Helen$, OR
Posts: 1,082
Default

Id say if it works better then stock then run it, you can always put it back the way it was down the road
Jeepernick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 10:07 PM   #6
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Joliet
Posts: 71
Default

Wooot, it does work better. Once I find my camera I will post up a little how to with templates for the peices I made.
MattG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 10:35 PM   #7
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cotati
Posts: 705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattG View Post
Wooot, it does work better. Once I find my camera I will post up a little how to with templates for the peices I made.


Right on.... I can't wait to see the pics so I can do it to mine!
hellbentrodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 10:54 PM   #8
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: westminster
Posts: 56
Default

hey it looks like it would work pretty good, dont for get to test it and post up a video!
punkafi888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 11:03 PM   #9
Picky Fab'r/Acetal Junky
 
Offroader5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Arizona Desert/AJ
Posts: 3,071
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trimmy View Post
Ya the bracket might get hung up but it seems like a good idea, or maybe you can put the bracket on the inside and button heads on the outside but you'll ptobably have to trim your skid plate. I know in 1.1 the upper links should be around 70% of the lower links (thanks Extreme 4x4). Try it out though.
I wouldn't take anything they say on Extreme too seriously.

BTW...what is that side bracket for?
Offroader5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 11:59 PM   #10
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Joliet
Posts: 71
Default

Side bracket is where the upper mounts mount to.

Whenever I find that damn camera I'll make the how to like I said lol.
MattG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 02:36 AM   #11
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Joliet
Posts: 71
Default

Update.... Not sure if I like it or not. Going back to stock for comparison for a bit and then I'll let you guys know.

Also, it doesn't work too well on the front right now, the mount is really close to the motor and the driveshaft angle isn't right.
MattG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 04:13 AM   #12
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Commerce Twp.
Posts: 1,776
Default

With the longer upper links it will take away some of your torque twist. But as far as mounting the links so far in make sure you have no clearance issues.
JUSTGOINGSLOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com