Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: Another AX10 build - but it's not a crawler... ;) (warn-pic heavy)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2008, 07:17 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Another AX10 build - but it's not a crawler... ;) (warn-pic heavy)

Hi all. I'm new to crawling, and because of this build, I'm probably going to be doing an all out crawler next year. but this project was more off road beater.

Now to convert this I'd need a different spur/pinion, motor, servo and battery placement - so it's not too different.

This is built on a reign rc K2-3S chassis. Reason I'm posting it here is because with the axial transmission, posts and axles, it's more AX10 than anything else...

The transmission is using an associated touring 32 pitch car spur - it's a direct fit. This lets me drop the teeth from a crawling 87t gear to a more zippy 54t. The motor is an ammo 3900kv motor using a 5mm shaft. 18t pinion is from rcmonster.

You can also see the Traxxas yoke and driveshaft (search function here worked well enough for me to find what people here seem to nitpick on the ax10 and what replacements they used - YAY)

Axles are using Wheely king differentials. As it's not a crawler, the differential is welcome - useful to know if planning on using the axial axle for something else - TBH I dunno if scale rigs are usually made with diffs actually.

It's a great set of parts begging to be used in completely custom vehicles. The gear change on the tranny alone would let you use that on say, homemade 2wd buggies to anything else you'd like to try.

Steering I came up with gives a bit of ackerman on turns and no toe on straights. Unlike crawlers here, It's using a saver. running into a tree at 30mph isn't usually forgiving.