Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: Ramblings from a noob

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2009, 08:40 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Ramblings from a noob

I'm still quite new to actually owning a crawler, but have been into RC since I was 18 and my parents couldn't stop me owning one (they never had them and deemed it unfair)

I'm thinking about various things and any input anyone could give would be nice.

I'm toying with making a torsion chassis. But it's a little hard to justify that right now, so for the time being I just want to improve what I've got.

Currently I've got an RTR with all the axial alloy, except an integy "Y" upper link
The rear is hot racing 30 deg lowers and integy "Y" upper
Shocks are threaded hot racing
Hot racing front and rear skids and centre curved skid

I know that I need to do something about my battery, having a stick pack that high up does nothing good for side hilling and steep inclines.

I'm tempted by cheap lipo packs, I borrowed one and was impressed at the difference it made.
I'd be tempted by saddle packs, but I just can't find any at a price I'd be willing to pay and not sure if I'd want to make my own as I've not soldered to a battery before.

I'm also thinking about my shocks alot. I've got hot racing threaded shocks with blue springs. I've tried them without springs, just to give a rough idea of what a droop setup might be like and I'm not overly happy with it.
I'm wondering if it's possible to come to some kind of "squat" so the shocks are at about half extension when the AX10 is sat under it's own weight.

I'm not sure if I want to go 4 link or not yet.

I'm very happy with my articulation, it's almost 90 degrees axle to axle. I just want to make her climb a little better

Cheers
Crimson Feight is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-04-2009, 08:53 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave