Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion
Loading

Notices

Thread: Slipper Questions

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2010, 03:53 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,004
Default Slipper Questions

I am going to upgrade my internal gears shortly on my AX10 comp rig and not sure how to get the Axial tranny to run w/o a slipper. Do you just take off the slipper pad and tighten the nut all the way down w/o the spring?

Also for those of you running a slipper how tight do you set it? I have mine screwed all the way in and loosened about a quarter turn.
alexchen86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-29-2010, 12:49 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 45
Default

i have my slipper set almost full loose and it still barley slips...maybe mines special lol
axial 888 rtc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:57 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 40
Default

I run mine fairly loose. step on the back tires, and hit the gas. front end barley lifts. If you have any plastic parts to tight on the slipper will twist/bend em. You want enough torque getting through to crawl, but also want to protect the parts. If you really don't want a clutch in it, a little CA on the slipper disk will lock it solid.
JohnDoeGeneric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 07:54 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Deep in Swing Town
Posts: 3,005
Default

if you rebuild your tranny without the slipper you will need the shorter top shaft...

axial part# AX30197
roksloski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 08:12 PM   #5
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDoeGeneric View Post
I run mine fairly loose. step on the back tires, and hit the gas. front end barley lifts. If you have any plastic parts to tight on the slipper will twist/bend em. You want enough torque getting through to crawl, but also want to protect the parts. If you really don't want a clutch in it, a little CA on the slipper disk will lock it solid.
If I tighten the slipper all the way in and use CA on the slipper pad won't that be the same as having no slipper?
alexchen86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 08:20 PM   #6
Tossin' Salad
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Petaluma
Posts: 1,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roksloski View Post
if you rebuild your tranny without the slipper you will need the shorter top shaft...

axial part# AX30197
Thanks for that.

Casey
KC_JoNeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 09:19 PM   #7
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,848
Default tonights mod

So I was having problems with my slipper constantly loosening up and slipping when the bind I was in was not even that bad. So I did a mod tonight. I drilled out the back plate (the tranny side) of teh slipper assembly. I then used a longer 3 mil screw though the spur gear. Anyway the 3 mil went all the way though and I now have no slipper without the hassle of ordering all these new parts.
RickM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 10:37 PM   #8
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NTXRCC
Posts: 488
Default

I like the free slipper mod. Thanks Rick

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickM View Post
So I was having problems with my slipper constantly loosening up and slipping when the bind I was in was not even that bad. So I did a mod tonight. I drilled out the back plate (the tranny side) of teh slipper assembly. I then used a longer 3 mil screw though the spur gear. Anyway the 3 mil went all the way though and I now have no slipper without the hassle of ordering all these new parts.
Aggie01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 06:20 AM   #9
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,848
Default

Hey, glad to help you not spend money on some things when we know we all spend to much on this crazy hobby anyway.
RickM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:06 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: phoenix
Posts: 35
Default can you post apic of the mod

that is a solid mod, would you mind sharing a pic?
nutoscaln is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com