Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion
Loading

Notices

Thread: Built in bec vs. Rooster Crawler bec for glitching

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2010, 07:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 34
Default Built in bec vs. Rooster Crawler bec for glitching

I am having trouble with glitching happening, specifically climbing and turning at the same time in forward or reverse. This has just recently started happening. All electronics are the stock ones the way I got it on the RTC. I just measured 5 volts on the feed from the esc to the rx for the servo circuit, and I know the Rooster Crawler will provide 6 volts/5 amps, but I don't know what kind of amps the stock esc puts out at those 5 volts. So would moving up to the Rooster Crawler be a good upgrade that should eliminate the glitching? (provided it is not something else) I am still running the stock servo, but I might upgrade the servo soon though. Also I am not running lipos, nor do I have plans to run them anytime soon, just running NiMh for the time being.

I would not see the need to run an external bec based upon what I have read for my needs. I will only be recreational crawling, never any comps. I am pretty new to all this, but know my way around stuff, so give me any advise you feel is applicable. Thanks in advance.
mudking82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-28-2010, 10:02 PM   #2
RCC Addict
 
TrailDawg362's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fox Valley WI
Posts: 1,672
Default

My vote would be for a Castle Sidewinder ESC and BEC combo. More programable, great drag brake and flexible enough to grow with if/when you go lipo. I run that combo in 3 of my rigs including a comp crawler. Best bang for the buck.
TrailDawg362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 11:20 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sheboygan
Posts: 278
Default

I vote for any ESC you want and a external BEC. Right now I'm running a CC Mamba Max with a CC Bec programmed at 6volts.
Wicked Klown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:40 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 34
Default

The reason I am thinking the Rooster Crawler is I can get one for $60 refurbished w/warranty. My servo I am going to run has a 3 amp stall, so why wouldn't the built in bec be sufficient?
mudking82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:48 AM   #5
RCC Addict
 
TrailDawg362's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fox Valley WI
Posts: 1,672
Default

Because of the amp/volt draw of a fully loaded motor plus the servo at full lock. One will get the available juice, the other will starve. It may be more of a voltage issue, but usually the motor will cut out when the servo is at it's full left/right point. The BEC gives the servo it's own power from the battery.

Last edited by TrailDawg362; 11-29-2010 at 12:54 AM.
TrailDawg362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 12:10 AM   #6
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Killeen
Posts: 52
Default

rooster doesnt have many tuning option, i have tekin fx pro and castle bec, traildawg362 eplanation is right on though. even though you say you will be a recreation crawler, there will be times when your front wheels will be in a bind and they dont get the right power, get a good servo too. i bought a cheapo servo on ebay for like $40, no name brand but it has metal gears and puts out like 400oz or whatever of turning power. it has actually out lasted any of these $150 servos at the LHS. BEC for sure no matter what esc. think of it as a bypass.
Stangrocka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:37 AM   #7
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 496
Default

In a similar position (stock electronics), just bought the truck, so no more $$$ for upgrades now, but I did pick up a CC BEC since they are $20. I'm wondering which way to wire it into the stock stuff? I'm confused because I have seen 2 different diagrams, the one with the CC, and another that wires it into the servo directly.
GRIMGREG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:57 AM   #8
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sheboygan
Posts: 278
Default

I've ran it both ways, one to the RX and the straight to the servo route. Both worked, if you go straight to the servo it gets full power from the BEC. Plugging it right in to the RX tho is the easiest.
Wicked Klown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com