Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Axial AX-10 Scorpion
Loading

Notices

Thread: New chassis need help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2010, 06:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 4
Default New chassis need help

Hello everybody.
I have a ax10 RTC and after some option, i fund the horrible flex of the stock chassis.
Is there someone who once compared the attachment points(links and shocks) between the ax10 RTC chassis and the competition chassis and tuber?
If yes, tell me what is the differences.
I want to make a frame and I need to know the pattern(position) of attachment points on the chassis.
I will use stock links.
Thank you for your help.

PS sorry for my english, i just speak french.
goldsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-2010, 07:40 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: milpitas
Posts: 47
Default

well when i made mine i mached the link mounts on my stock chassis to my tuber and everything mached up and works good the shocks you can move around to adjust your ride hight and flex and so on i would look at other peoples rigs to see how u would want ur rig to handle

Last edited by Clod Killer; 12-06-2010 at 07:44 PM.
Clod Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 07:46 PM   #3
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SLC
Posts: 89
Default

search! and look around there is a ton of info on aftermarket chassis. custom chassis will need custom links because position and geometry will be different. dont expect bolt up.
bubbaskyjacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 07:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: milpitas
Posts: 47
Default

not if u build it right i use stock links on my costum chassis
Clod Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 08:00 PM   #5
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SLC
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clod Killer View Post
not if u build it right i use stock links on my costum chassis

sure, i could have used my stock links on my new chassis and then it would have been 13.5 inches long, and pinion angles would be out of wack

any quality chassis is gonna need new length links, underground, Bender swx, gatekeeper, the list can go on.

very few might work. but its counter productive if the geometry's are the same.

take MY advice and look at all the good builds on here they make custom links and mods to get it right.


PS. Milpitas smells and the Great Mall sucks

Last edited by bubbaskyjacker; 12-06-2010 at 08:04 PM. Reason: added smiley face
bubbaskyjacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 09:01 PM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 2,891
Default

The stock chassis has plenty of flex, your problem lines in your 3-link and your shocks.
Greatscott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 09:32 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 4
Default

I have 4 link front and rear from TCS
color kit for all aluminium links
split batterie for front diff.
Tony screw for best screw.

Next step will be a tuber, but for this upgrade, i need help.
goldsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 01:14 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: phoenix
Posts: 35
Default color kit?

if a color kit is an upgrade your not looking at this correctly, it is more about the function than looks

Start by deciding what kind of rig yoru building if it is for comping garab a beer and read the rules they are very specific on wheel base, etc.

If it is a backyard crawler, search tuber and you will find some very cool ones, if your more about look than function consider a scaler, but careful going that route there are so many KICK A$$ builds newbs like us stick out like sore thumbs!!!!!
nutoscaln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:46 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 4
Default

For your information, on stock RTC link, it's impossible to put 4 link.
Then to upgrade to 4 link setup you need some links.
In the color kit you have all link need to put 4 link setup.
Thanks.
goldsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com