Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: New, a little help please?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2011, 01:28 AM   #1

Question New, a little help please?

First off, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to view my post.

Secondly, I'm very new to RC rock crawling, i wasn't aware of the sport/hobby at all until my girlfriends dad showed me, i've had my rounds with 2wd racing (2002 RC10T4 AE/ Traxxas 4-Tec 4wd sedan that I had turned into rally )
and got really into it. I did that for a long while and then i quit because it didnt spark my interest as much, then came rock crawling.

I got an Axial AX10 Scorpion as a christmas present from my girlfriend and her family. That day her dad took me to the rubble spot in their vineyard and i was hooked. I went to our local national park and went to some spots that he had told me about and had the time of my life, i would have never had guessed the concentration and the calculations you had to take into mind to get over an obstacle, i've been driving around town looking for places to play with it with a buddy of mine, who is also looking into it as well. We found a spot where an old building had been torn down and made a trail going over rubble, under it, the side of it, you name it. For Christ's sake we had so much fun we spot our highbeams on the course from our cars to get light and stayed there till 12 o'clock at night. The next day i was already searching for upgrades to make my crawler the ultimate climbing machine, only problem was, i had NO CLUE where to start. I talked to my girlfriends dad and asked what is the best way to start? he told me to start little, maybe get some high clearance links and get aluminum drive shafts to start out little. I have yet to do so.