Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: My AX10 build: Stock to Fastback II

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2011, 06:05 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default My AX10 build: Stock to Fastback II

Updated many posts with new pictures and info aug 7/2011.

This thread will document my experience from stock AX to custom. Hopefully it will help new people starting out.I will add info that I have learned along the way.

Stock(2nd pic is right out of the box)

I will document and put my opinions out there to answer the questions I had starting this journey a few months ago. I am no expert and still have much to learn.

I researched a lot before buying an AX 10. Initially I wanted a inexpensive crawler, but wanted hobby quality with good aftermarket upgrades . I took advice from many here and Bought the Ax 10 Axial. I still try to do this on a budget but I have splurged when I thought it was worth it. To date I have upgraded quite a few parts but no stock part has ever broke! Pretty impressive for Axial. I am really glad i chose the Axial. One strong reason I bought this over Losi was extended runtime with driveshaft vs screw drive.

Stock and having fun !

Leaning to make links. One of the first and best upgrades is steering servo and aluminum links for the steering. Trying to get as good as possible but being economical I bought Savox servo for $39 way better than stock. It steers much more accuratly with these changes. The rear upper links are 6/32 allthread with bic pen bodies covering up the all thread.

One of the other best upgrade was tires. I picked up a slightly used set of white dot rovers. They are larger than the stock proline hammers and look very cool. They work much better on new England rocks! The compound is much softer and it grips the rocks.I am using stock foams with 1 1/8 hole drilled in all rims. I might like to try some memory foams in the front.