Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: controller/reciever recommendations. dig/brushed vs brushless?/?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2011, 09:37 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default controller/reciever recommendations. dig/brushed vs brushless?/?

hey guys. i have some newbie questions s dont beet on me to bad. i am looking for a decent controller for my scorpion so i can run a dig unit. i am also looking toward a brushless setup as well. i am new to this and could use some help. is there a reciever that can do it all. like run nimh and lipo batteries o the same reciever and that is also compatible with brushed and brushless motors or am i just wishfull thinking? i might be sounding like an idiot but thats why im asking. i was looking at the novak nov5450 dig unit and would love to try it but i only have the original controller for it. what is a popular controller to use? is a brushless setup really worth it compere to a brushed? mine will crawl like all get out but it wont turn up like others i have seen.
mudd_slinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-23-2011, 10:07 AM   #2
RCC Addict

I recently purchased a Futaba 4PL. I cannot beleive what a difference the unit makes. All I can say is AMAZING !
DRV KRAWLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 10:59 AM   #3
Pebble Pounder

I've been running the Futaba 3pm for a while, on complaints. It's a good, cheap, 3channel entry into the 2.4 realm.

If you're going to be using the radio for a wide range of rigs, fast and slow, the 4PL is great. The 4pks has a slightly faster response time and it also double the price.

Many are going with hand wound brushed motors for their smooth power delivery and strong drag brake.

I've got the novak brushless goat system. it's a 2s lipo compatible system and also works with nimh. So far it's worked fine.

for a dig unit, I've got the VP hurtz 3 pos shifter dig.