Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Axial AX-10 Scorpion
Loading

Notices

Thread: Ax10 Battery relocation kit? Lipo dimensions?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2011, 10:52 AM   #1
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 90
Default Ax10 Battery relocation kit? Lipo dimensions?

I was wondering if someone would be able to give me the dimensions (width and length) of what the max space is for a lipo on the Ax10 battery relocation kit (the axial branded kit). I have recently purchased an ax10 and it is on route to me - I wanted to order 2 more 3s lipo's now for it so they would show up at the same time as the rig so I am not able to get the measurements myself at this time.
RNUOVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-02-2011, 12:58 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 13
Default

I just purchased mine and they were out of the 1300mah so I went ahead and got the 2200mah with it that measures 105mm x 35mm x 15mm it's a little tight, but has no clearance issues. I don't think you would want to try anything bigger than that.


Also wanted to note that the stock setup is only good for 2s LiPo's...

Last edited by diabloed; 11-02-2011 at 01:01 PM.
diabloed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 11:48 PM   #3
Proverbial threadkiller
 
Trubble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RNUOVR View Post
I was wondering if someone would be able to give me the dimensions (width and length) of what the max space is for a lipo on the Ax10 battery relocation kit (the axial branded kit).
You're referring to the battery plate for on top of the front axle, correct? Or are you asking what will fit on top of the front upper links?

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabloed View Post
I went ahead and got the 2200mah with it that measures 105mm x 35mm x 15mm it's a little tight, but has no clearance issues. I don't think you would want to try anything bigger than that.
105mm's? Is that on the battery plate with the servo relocated off to one side? Or is yours (battery) on top of the front links?

I ask 'cause the battery plate I made for mine seems to pretty well fill the area between the wheels, and I only have room for about a 75 or so mm battery.
Trubble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 01:51 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 206
Default

I had only enough room for a 70mm battery, so I checked out all the batteries on ebay as most have dimensions. The biggest I found was a 1500mh 3s. Havnt had a proper run on this one but I got a couple of 1100mh as well and they last about 20ins each (havnt exactly timed it).
Problem is now I have vp knuckles and cvds I cant use all the steering as it hits the battery and servo wheel spacer time..
Nik
Nik6189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 05:55 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 13
Default

The battery size I listed was placed on the upper links using the supplied battery plate.
diabloed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 07:17 AM   #6
No idea what I'm doing
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Underground, CO
Posts: 4,536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nik6189 View Post
I had only enough room for a 70mm battery, so I checked out all the batteries on ebay as most have dimensions. The biggest I found was a 1500mh 3s. Havnt had a proper run on this one but I got a couple of 1100mh as well and they last about 20ins each (havnt exactly timed it).
Problem is now I have vp knuckles and cvds I cant use all the steering as it hits the battery and servo wheel spacer time..
Nik
Bigger isn't always better, as I'm sure you are finding out with your clearance issues. You should be able to fit a 1000 - 1300 on the front axle with no problems, and it should give you decent run times. Not sure why you're only getting 20 minutes (I think that's what you meant) out of a 1500, but I get longer than that with my 1300's, and usually only use my 1000's.
C*H*U*D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 02:15 PM   #7
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 90
Default

I am planning on running the battery on the front axle - from what I can tell the servo is offset as far possible to the right and it also has behind the axle steering

I was actually looking at some batteries that were 70 mm long 22mm wide and 34mm high so it looks like I may have already been on the right track

Thanks guys
RNUOVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 10:38 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: eastern sierra
Posts: 34
Default

I think what your looking for is the 1300 lipo. You got the measurements correctly. I recently had the same questions and thats the conclusion I had.
eastside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 03:42 AM   #9
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 206
Default

The estimated 20mins run time was with the 1300 I still havnt run a full 1500 pack as I keep breaking!
Saying that the actual deminsions of the 800mh ad 1500mh are very close. I got the 800s second hand so not sure what run time youd get on a new one but I get about 10mins out of them.
Nik
Nik6189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com