Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: HSP Pangolin

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2013, 05:34 PM   #1

Default HSP Pangolin

Greetings, I'm a newbie here. I have a Stampede VXL 4X4, and a 2WD Stampede. I've been thinking about buying a crawler. I kind of like the Ridgecrest and think it might meet my needs, but I've been looking at a Pangolin by HSP that looks to be identical to an AX-10 Scorpion and it costs only $150. I was wondering if anyone here was familiar with that and any comments would be appreciated. My crawler knowledge is limited. I do know I want something that will do more than just crawl at a snail's pace. Seems like the Ridgecrest does that.
ROB311952 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-21-2013, 05:43 PM   #2
TSK
Shelf queen

Default Re: HSP Pangolin

Best to stay away from any knockoff, as more often than not, you get what you pay for as far as parts quality and aftermarket support.
TSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 03:43 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSCorpionKing View Post
Best to stay away from any knockoff, as more often than not, you get what you pay for as far as parts quality and aftermarket support.
True most of the time. However in this case, you can bolt in Scorpion parts to upgrade if you break them. I've got a bunch of Traxxas parts I could also use with some mods if needed. I got burned on a Radio Shack a long time ago. No parts or support, and nothing else would fit.
Old 03-22-2013, 05:58 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper

You would be way better off going with axial. Any axial. If you want something with more speed get a wraith. Then if you want more versatility buy a 2 speed transmission for it. HSP is pretty much a knock off of other crawlers with inferior parts. You would have a better rig even if you bought a redcat.
slim_chance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:21 PM   #5