Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: Struhall's first comp rig. Project Bad Influence.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2019, 10:06 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Struhall's first comp rig. Project Bad Influence.

I feel like it's about time I posted up some pics of my newest rig. This is my first comp rig and I'm still new to this side of the game but I'm having fun and loving it so far.

It all started when Crawler Innovations had the first get together for the Activated Outlaw rule set. At the event Eddie and Gavin both let me drive one of their rigs and I knew I was hooked. I started doing some thinking and realized I could put together a rig with what I had and a handful more parts and I got started.

I already had a set of AX10 axles with steel Beef Tubes in the front, I added Vanquish C-hubs, knuckles and lock outs. I bought some Hot Racing universals to get all the steering angle the VP parts could give me. The axles had STRC 4 link truss on the rear and a Hot Racing 4 link on the front. I kept the rear but I got rid of the front truss and replaced it with a servo plate/battery tray.

Before the new front plate.

One of the pieces I bought was a Bender SWX chassis with the skid and a bunch of links. Got that put together and started working on the links and steering and how I was going to mount the servo. I'm using a stock plastic housing with stock gears for the transmission and I'll upgrade any of that as I break something.

Sterring is just pieces I had laying around, i used a bent Axial high clearance link for the tie rod because that's all i had that would clear the servo arm.

My wheelbase is just under 12in right now and I'm at 2 1/8 or so belly height. The wheelbase will get adjusted but this is what I got with the pieces I had in my spare parts bins.