Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: 75t vs. 55t

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2007, 03:18 PM   #1

Default 75t vs. 55t

I have a 75turn lathe motor on my scorpion right now. I am new to crawling as this is my first crawler and i have to admit i have never even seen another rc crawler in action in person. I feel like my crawler does great but like i said i have nothing to compare it to. i am going thru the what if i change this, mindset and am wondering if having more wheelspeed will give me a much greater advantage.i have been doin the 1:1 thing for several years and slower is better on the rocks in that way but i am wondering if my 75 turn is to slow for crawling. I have a 55turn that is on order but i wanted to know if it was worht the time it put it on and solder everythign back up. like i said im happy with my 75 turn, which i only got because thats all my LHS had in stock other than fast stuff, and am just pondering if the extra wheel speed will truely be a advantage that im missing out on. there are certain times when i just have it pinned for what seems a while on dirt hill climbs and rocks covered in dirt with the tires just digging and im wondering if having more wheel speed will get me over it better. on the rocks with no dirt it seems great to have the torque. so im wondering how much of a difference is there between my 75turn and my 55turn thats on its way. will i really feel its effects? also my truck is pretty heavy so having the torque is good to have. thanks for the help
tacoma87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-18-2007, 03:28 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

i run 65t on my comp rigs for my clod and my ax-10 and run a 45t on my hill climb rig. It didnt notice to big of a diffrence between the 65t and 55t in speed but you will notice more diffrence if you add anther cell to your battery.
rockcrawler_101 is offline   Reply With Quote