Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX10 2nd-gen

Notices

Thread: 3 Link or 4 Link

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2019, 04:05 PM   #1

Default 3 Link or 4 Link

OK, total newbie here at the RC thing. I just picked up a 1.9 Wraith and a Builder Kit yesterday morning. I noticed when I got the Wraith home that it was only 3 linked on the front which I thought was in error as it is clearly designed for a 4 link front, but then when I started the builder kit, I saw that their instructions were to 3 link the front on that as well.

So here is my question, do you guys 3 link or 4 link the fronts ( I get that the 3 link should give more articulation, but I also notice it leans and torques real hard to the side without the link).

Second question, how about the rear, if we are only 3 linking the front, why not 3 link the rear?

Again, total newb at this and trying to learn ( I do rock crawl a jeep I built - 4 linked all around) but the RC thing is a bit different and looking for your guys knowledge and feedback. Thanks in advance.

Randy

Last edited by Texas_Jester; 05-12-2019 at 04:22 PM.
Texas_Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-12-2019, 06:55 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: 3 Link or 4 Link

3 link is used almost exclusively when the steering servo is chassis mounted (CMS) rather than being mounted on the axle. 4 link is pretty much standard for axle mounted servos.

The reason for the 3 link with CMS is you need a panhard bar locking the side to side movement of the axle to reduce/eliminate bump steer caused by the suspension articulation. If you were to use a 4 link and panhard bar you would restrict suspension articulation to almost nothing.