Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Capra
Loading

Notices

Thread: Capra Battery Thread

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2019, 12:54 PM   #21
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northeast
Posts: 147
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I've got a pair of these batts on on order from AMain that should be here any day.: https://www.amainhobbies.com/lumenie...um2951/p997406

RPP has some 3S Helios 1500 batteries that look like they'll also fit the bill nicely. Helios has a better reputation and I wanted those but RPP was out of stock on everything I wanted to order. AMain had everything but with the Lumenier batteries instead so I thought I'd give them a try.

I also have the same 4100 mah ProTek LiHv packs mentioned by JSterrett which on paper should fit. I'll let y'all know after I get the truck build started soon.
RCTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-10-2019, 06:03 PM   #22
Rock Crawler
 
indybama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US
Posts: 888
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by soze View Post
I've been using a HobbyStar 3S 3700mah in my Element. It should fit the Capra as well.



How u like those hobbystar batts soze? I get emails from rcjuice with those advertised. Thought bout pickn up a couple, but figured id get some input from some users first

Sent from my SM-J327VPP using Tapatalk
indybama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 04:07 AM   #23
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2,467
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by indybama View Post
How u like those hobbystar batts soze? I get emails from rcjuice with those advertised. Thought bout pickn up a couple, but figured id get some input from some users first

Sent from my SM-J327VPP using Tapatalk
*shrug* not much to say other than that they work and fit small battery tray applications. It's the main battery I've been running in my element. Works well for me.

Sent from my LG-H931 using Tapatalk

Last edited by soze; 10-11-2019 at 04:12 AM.
soze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 08:33 AM   #24
Rock Stacker
 
FastMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: MN
Posts: 71
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I also run the Hobbystar 3700 batteries in a few rigs. They work well enough for the $40 price. Although my Capra is only 50% done, they definitely do fit the battery tray.

https://www.rcjuice.com/lipo-batteri...o-battery.html
FastMatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 10:54 AM   #25
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Newbury Park
Posts: 139
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I've got about a dozen RC Juice Hobbystar batteries and I've only one puff on me after about 2 dozen cycles. The rest have been absolutely perfect. Can't recommend them enough.
Dbdynsty25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 11:42 AM   #26
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 1,280
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I'm currently running some cheap 1600mAh 3S soft packs that I was originally using in my plane. With the battery tray set to fit them snug they are 102mm x 35mm (wide) x 20mm .
Sneetches is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 09:38 PM   #27
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: under a rock and a hard place
Posts: 5,358
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Any body find a 4s that fits that also has enough amp capacity to handle a 2700 brushless ?
hotwheels000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 11:56 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Gulf Coast
Posts: 3
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Gens Ace Adventure 3600's seem to fit.

Teclas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 12:30 AM   #29
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Posts: 1,320
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotwheels000 View Post
Any body find a 4s that fits that also has enough amp capacity to handle a 2700 brushless ?
I just happened to test fit this guy 60C 4S 1000mah LiPO Battery | Value Hobby in there a few minutes ago, fits great, plenty of room for the wires in the tray. 60 amps (888watts @ 14.8v) is plenty to keep up with a 2700kv, especially if it's a stubby.
TheLetterJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 08:43 AM   #30
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: central VT
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I know that typically the zippy and turnigy packs are fairly close in size for a given mah. I see that people are able to squeeze in a 2200mah 3s zippy pack. Could someone confirm that the same size turnigy packs fit? I have a bunch of those and it would be easier to justify another truck purchase if my turnigys fit.
meatmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 09:03 AM   #31
Tire&Foam Extraordinaire
 
Nova's Ark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: C.I. Compound, Tyler, Texas
Posts: 5,447
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Gavin and I are using these G Force Elite 100C 4S 1300mah lipo battery in our Capra build.
Linked here;
GForce Elite Series 100C 1300mAh 4S 14.8V LiPO (XT60 Connector) - 4S LiPO - 14.8V - Batteries - Power | Value Hobby
Nova's Ark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 09:37 AM   #32
Quarry Creeper
 
GA Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Marietta
Posts: 476
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper View Post
I'm using Goldbat 3S 1500mAh LiPos and there is plenty of room left so I'm looking for something slightly bigger.
I picked up a couple of those. I got about 50 minutes per pack while 60/40 crawling/trailing.
GA Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 10:25 AM   #33
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 10,876
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Dawg View Post
I picked up a couple of those. I got about 50 minutes per pack while 60/40 crawling/trailing.

Awesome! Good to know. 4 should easily get me through the day then.
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 10:33 AM   #34
Quarry Creeper
 
GA Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Marietta
Posts: 476
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I was pleasantly surprised. I was thinking I'd go somewhere in the 30-40 minute range on those.
GA Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 11:10 AM   #35
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 10,876
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Dawg View Post
I was pleasantly surprised. I was thinking I'd go somewhere in the 30-40 minute range on those.

What motor, ESC and gearing are you using?
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 12:13 PM   #36
Quarry Creeper
 
GA Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Marietta
Posts: 476
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper View Post
What motor, ESC and gearing are you using?
Reedy Radon 16T motor with a 13T pinion and a Mamba X.
GA Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 02:58 PM   #37
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 10,876
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Dawg View Post
Reedy Radon 16T motor with a 13T pinion and a Mamba X.
I have the same motor with a 1080 ESC and the stock, 14T pinion.
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 03:27 PM   #38
Quarry Creeper
 
GA Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Marietta
Posts: 476
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I'm going to try and dig up a sintered 11T pinion. I had a hardened 11T pinion and it was really loud. I'm not saying that the mesh was necessarily perfect, but the sintered metal on sintered metal sounds a lot better to me. I like a little wheel speed, but not quite this much.
GA Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 03:28 PM   #39
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: US
Posts: 468
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Dawg View Post
I'm going to try and dig up a sintered 11T pinion. I had a hardened 11T pinion and it was really loud. I'm not saying that the mesh was necessarily perfect, but the sintered metal on sintered metal sounds a lot better to me. I like a little wheel speed, but not quite this much.
What is the stock Axial Pinion made of?

~ More peace, love, laughter, & kindness would make the world a MUCH better place
Panther6834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 05:11 PM   #40
I wanna be Dave
 
WHITE-TRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tri-cities, WA
Posts: 4,449
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther6834 View Post
What is the stock Axial Pinion made of?
Sintered metal.
WHITE-TRASH is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
axial, battery, capra, lipo, official



Capra Battery Thread - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's this? Another battery thread? RubikonKid Axial SCX-10 26 12-02-2013 01:49 PM
another hot battery thread....sorry olvegrn Electronics 4 07-25-2013 09:24 PM
Battery question...yes, I read the battery thread...twice... MikeTJ Losi Micro-Rock Crawler 14 06-07-2011 08:44 PM
Battery Thread What to run? toy4crawlin Electronics 15 02-22-2007 11:57 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com