Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Capra
Loading

Notices

Thread: Capra Battery Thread

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2019, 04:16 PM   #41
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: US
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by WHITE-TRASH View Post
Sintered metal.
Then why not just order the Axial 13T, 12T and/or 11T? They should be off the same metal, right?

~ More peace, love, laughter, & kindness would make the world a MUCH better place
Panther6834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-12-2019, 04:52 PM   #42
I wanna be Dave
 
WHITE-TRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tri-cities, WA
Posts: 4,528
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther6834 View Post
Then why not just order the Axial 13T, 12T and/or 11T? They should be off the same metal, right?

My money says they are the same material.
WHITE-TRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 07:06 PM   #43
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: US
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by WHITE-TRASH View Post
My money says they are the same material.
Exactly my point. Axial/Horizon Hobby is sending me the 11T (free) for having brought another error to their attention. If the 14T towns out to be "too fast", and the 11T towns out to be "too slow", gonna have to figure out whether to get the 12T or 13T. Hopefully, the 11T hits the 'sweet spot' (will be running Mamba X w/ 2280kV Slate, on both 2S & 3S).

~ More peace, love, laughter, & kindness would make the world a MUCH better place
Panther6834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 01:54 AM   #44
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Czech
Posts: 10
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sneetches View Post
I'm currently running some cheap 1600mAh 3S soft packs that I was originally using in my plane. With the battery tray set to fit them snug they are 102mm x 35mm (wide) x 20mm .
be so kind to tell me exact type of baterry and is possible position pictures? many thanks
haiso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 10:59 AM   #45
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Posts: 1,493
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Floureon 35c 3s 1500mah packs (borrowed for test fit) fit with plenty of room for wires next to it in the battery tray: https://www.ebay.com/itm/2X-3S-11-1V...8AAOSw5TtdR82s

I also have a pair of these Zeee 100c 3s 1500mah packs coming to try out: https://www.ebay.com/itm/2PCS-1500mA...=1018979275025

My Value Hobby/Gforce 30c 3s 2200mah fits in the battery compartment with a little pressure, but the wires have to stick up through the hood (currently removed) and connect through the windshield. This is just my temporary solution while I wait for the smaller packs.

Value Hobby/Gforce 30c 3s 1300mah packs (borrowed for test fit) fit easily too: GForce 30C 1300mAh 3S 11.1V LiPO (XT60 Connector) | Value Hobby

What I'm taking away from this is that a 75mm (not 98mm like the full width of the tray) battery is about the right size to still have room for wires and connectors, without having to push on the hood. I'm cheap, so I'm okay with a pocket full of cheap/lower mah batteries instead of one expensive, yet still small, higher mah battery.
TheLetterJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 10:41 AM   #46
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Czech
Posts: 10
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Question was directly to Sneetches he wrote "With the battery tray set to fit them snug they are 102mm x 35mm (wide) x 20mm" so Iīm consider if my 102 mm batery fits into Capra baterry space.. I didnīt see mounted such as long baterry so far https://haiso.rajce.idnes.cz/Ruzne/#...5C-Baterry.jpg

Last edited by haiso; 10-21-2019 at 10:44 AM.
haiso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 11:21 AM   #47
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by haiso View Post
Question was directly to Sneetches he wrote "With the battery tray set to fit them snug they are 102mm x 35mm (wide) x 20mm" so Iīm consider if my 102 mm batery fits into Capra baterry space.. I didnīt see mounted such as long baterry so far
I will double check the length later. They're these packs: GForce Elite Series 30C 1600mAh 3S 11.1V LiPO | Value Hobby
Sneetches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 11:55 AM   #48
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Czech
Posts: 10
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sneetches View Post
I will double check the length later. They're these packs: GForce Elite Series 30C 1600mAh 3S 11.1V LiPO | Value Hobby
Perfect if you can upload same battery picture as mine and position of battery in Capra it would be great
haiso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 09:29 AM   #49
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Czech
Posts: 10
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Hi Sneetches can you give me pictures ?
haiso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 09:03 PM   #50
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by haiso View Post
Hi Sneetches can you give me pictures ?
I double checked my batteries and despite the listed "102mm" length, they are only 96mm.
Sneetches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 09:23 AM   #51
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 200
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I'll add that the Gens Ace Adventure 3600mah fits with some extra room to spare.
Lashlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 02:18 PM   #52
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: MI
Posts: 14
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Just figured I'd drop this here, I ordered one, it fits just fine. Smaller @ 1800mah but only $24...I'm fine with it.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
volumeknob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 06:54 AM   #53
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Channahon
Posts: 14
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Has anyone tried the Goldbat 2200 3S? I have a couple of these floating around already. I'm trying to pre-purchase some of my electronics and accessories prior to getting the kit, but if I can use batteries I already have...

GoldBat 3S

The cables exit more out of the top than the end. Dimensions listed as 104 x 34 x 25.

Last edited by DutchTerror; 10-30-2019 at 07:00 AM.
DutchTerror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 07:09 AM   #54
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 16
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I have a few 2S shorties. Can I use bullet connectors or is there room only for 'end-leaving' (soft pack) cables?
elementti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 05:53 AM   #55
Moderator
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 13,337
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Would this battery work for my Capra with the HobbyWing WP1080 ESC and Reedy Radon 16T 5-slot motor? The C-rating is 17.

https://www.thunderpowerrc.com/produ...2c3914a1&_ss=r
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 08:00 AM   #56
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 246
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by DutchTerror View Post
Has anyone tried the Goldbat 2200 3S? I have a couple of these floating around already. I'm trying to pre-purchase some of my electronics and accessories prior to getting the kit, but if I can use batteries I already have...

GoldBat 3S

The cables exit more out of the top than the end. Dimensions listed as 104 x 34 x 25.
I was thinking of buying one to test. bump before I do. Anyone tried these?
raul shabinguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 02:49 PM   #57
Moderator
 
Topher Builds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper View Post
Would this battery work for my Capra with the HobbyWing WP1080 ESC and Reedy Radon 16T 5-slot motor? The C-rating is 17.

https://www.thunderpowerrc.com/produ...2c3914a1&_ss=r
Never really looked into the math of this before but your question made me curious, this is what I've come up with.

At a 16C constant burst and 2000mah the battery can safely discharge 32amps continously, with a 60 amp max burst discharge. The HW1080 has a constant draw of 80 amps for forward and 30 amps for reverse. For a crawler with an efficient motor like a 5 slot you could be okay for a while but I'm not sure it would be recommended.

With that in mind, I use 2200mah 25c battery in a 1080 with a 5 slot, which would support a 55 amp continuous draw. I haven't had any problems yet, but usually the capra doesn't see much throttle.
Topher Builds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 02:54 PM   #58
Moderator
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 13,337
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topher Builds View Post
Never really looked into the math of this before but your question made me curious, this is what I've come up with.

At a 16C constant burst and 2000mah the battery can safely discharge 32amps continously, with a 60 amp max burst discharge. The HW1080 has a constant draw of 80 amps for forward and 30 amps for reverse. For a crawler with an efficient motor like a 5 slot you could be okay for a while but I'm not sure it would be recommended.

With that in mind, I use 2200mah 25c battery in a 1080 with a 5 slot, which would support a 55 amp continuous draw. I haven't had any problems yet, but usually the capra doesn't see much throttle.
Yeah it seems to be cutting it close for usability in my Capra. Thank you for the math.
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 02:55 PM   #59
Moderator
 
Topher Builds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,075
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper View Post
Yeah it seems to be cutting it close for usability in my Capra. Thank you for the math.
No problem, happy to learn something new.
Topher Builds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 04:12 PM   #60
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 49
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I’ve been using Helios 1500ma 3s in mine with a BRXL and Holmes magnum 540 13T with an 11t pinion and it works well. Doesn’t last a super long time, but i have a few of them and they are lightweight. My Protek 4100ma fits and probably better suited for power, but I only have one, it’s heavier, and use it in my honcho. The Helios 1500 seems to work perfect for the slow crawling that i do.
NABeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
axial, battery, capra, lipo, official



Capra Battery Thread - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's this? Another battery thread? RubikonKid Axial SCX-10 26 12-02-2013 12:49 PM
another hot battery thread....sorry olvegrn Electronics 4 07-25-2013 08:24 PM
Battery question...yes, I read the battery thread...twice... MikeTJ Losi Micro-Rock Crawler 14 06-07-2011 07:44 PM
Battery Thread What to run? toy4crawlin Electronics 15 02-22-2007 10:57 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com