Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Capra
Loading

Notices

Thread: Capra Battery Thread

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2019, 06:16 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 10,873
Default Capra Battery Thread

Which LiPo batteries have you found to fit in the stock, unmodified battery tray in the Capra without having to jam them in there with lube?

Photos and links are a bonus.


I'm using Goldbat 3S 1500mAh LiPos and there is plenty of room left so I'm looking for something slightly bigger.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07GDYMF3X/

JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-08-2019, 06:31 PM   #2
Rock Crawler
 
indybama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: US
Posts: 888
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper View Post
Which LiPo batteries have you found to fit in the stock, unmodified battery tray in the Capra without having to jam them in there with lube?



Photos and links are a bonus.





I'm using Goldbat 3S 1500mAh LiPos and there is plenty of room left so I'm looking for something slightly bigger.



https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07GDYMF3X/



Hey jato, i dont have a capra, but maybe i can help u out. How much room u got for a battery? I run ovonic air 3s 3000mah 50c in my scx10 ii. Ive found some 3300 n 4500 mah on ebay as well. Hope this is of any help for u

Sent from my SM-J327VPP using Tapatalk
indybama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 06:34 PM   #3
Formerly Pant Danza
 
Topher Builds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Hobbyking zippy pack 2200mah 3s fits tightly.

Was also able to squeeze in the Helios 3500mah 3s shorty packs this was super tight but it tucked in.

Protek 3600mah lihv 3s fits too.
Attached Images
 
Topher Builds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 08:40 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 474
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

ProTek 3600mAh 3S LiHV. This is an older battery, the newer ones (pretty sure they're the same size) are 4100mAh. Tucks in pretty snug.



Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
JSterrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 10:23 PM   #5
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: North Highlands
Posts: 370
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I'm sticking to my 1550mah 3s 45c Tattu. Anything bigger is just unneeded weight IMO.
punkindrublik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 05:42 PM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 10,873
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

It looks like SMC has a 3S 4000mAh 50C pack if their specs are to be believed. It's not cheap at $40 though.

https://www.smc-racing.net/index.php...product_id=557
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 06:40 PM   #7
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Douglassville, PA
Posts: 2,892
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Ordered 2 Turnigy Nanotech 2S shorty packs. $38 for both. Should just fit, have a few mm to spare in each direction.
OSRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 07:01 PM   #8
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: US
Posts: 462
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper View Post
It looks like SMC has a 3S 4000mAh 50C pack if their specs are to be believed. It's not cheap at $40 though.

https://www.smc-racing.net/index.php...product_id=557
I've been using SMC batteries in my race vehicle, and I can confirm they're excellent. Typically, manufacturers sell to importers, who sell to distributors, who them sell to retailers (brick & mortar, and online), do finally sell to you. That's 3 different markups.

SMC cuts out the "middlemen"...they are the manufacturer...so there no additional markup. That's how they keep their prices low. The "downside" (albeit, a very minimal one) is that you usually have to wait a little longer to receive them.

~ More peace, love, laughter, & kindness would make the world a MUCH better place
Panther6834 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 07:16 PM   #9
into the ether...
 
smog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winterpeg
Posts: 1,280
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper View Post
It looks like SMC has a 3S 4000mAh 50C pack if their specs are to be believed. It's not cheap at $40 though.

https://www.smc-racing.net/index.php...product_id=557
I couldnt even get a 3s shorty lipo in Canada until Horizon just released theirs. I am assuming I will be able to get that one soon. To ship one across international borders costs us a fortune as they ship As hazardous material. I wish I could buy that battery for 40 bucks
smog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 07:25 PM   #10
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: US
Posts: 462
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I can also confirm that the Reedy WolfPack Hard Case Shorty 2S 3000mAh fits without any problems. It's tight enough that it's not going to move around, but easy enough to remove. It comes with a Deans Ultra connector...but, for those that want something else, changing the connector to whatever you want is easy enough.

Still waiting for the Gens Ace Adventure batteries (3S) to arrive. Will update on fitment once they arrive.


~ More peace, love, laughter, & kindness would make the world a MUCH better place

Last edited by Panther6834; 10-09-2019 at 07:29 PM.
Panther6834 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 07:27 PM   #11
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: US
Posts: 462
Default Capra Battery Thread

*deleted...a accidental dbl-post*
Panther6834 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 08:50 PM   #12
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 10,873
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by OSRC View Post
Ordered 2 Turnigy Nanotech 2S shorty packs. $38 for both. Should just fit, have a few mm to spare in each direction.
My 2S 4200mAh Nano-Tech shorty hard packs fit no problem. I am also able to force my 3S 2200mAh Zippy packs into it.

These are my Zippy packs. I assume these got replaced with the yellow version.
https://hobbyking.com/en_us/zippy-fl...-3s1p-40c.html


Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther6834 View Post
I've been using SMC batteries in my race vehicle, and I can confirm they're excellent. Typically, manufacturers sell to importers, who sell to distributors, who them sell to retailers (brick & mortar, and online), do finally sell to you. That's 3 different markups.

SMC cuts out the "middlemen"...they are the manufacturer...so there no additional markup. That's how they keep their prices low. The "downside" (albeit, a very minimal one) is that you usually have to wait a little longer to receive them.

~ More peace, love, laughter, & kindness would make the world a MUCH better place
SMC has long had a good reputation, but that seems to be changing. Lots of people, including my friend, have had brand new SMC LiPos puff and SMC didn't care to replace them.


Quote:
Originally Posted by smog View Post
I couldnt even get a 3s shorty lipo in Canada until Horizon just released theirs. I am assuming I will be able to get that one soon. To ship one across international borders costs us a fortune as they ship As hazardous material. I wish I could buy that battery for 40 bucks
That's a bummer!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther6834 View Post
Still waiting for the Gens Ace Adventure batteries (3S) to arrive. Will update on fitment once they arrive.
The Gens Ace Adventure battery is expensive for a budget brand like Gens Ace. But if it fits that's a lot of mAh in there.
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 09:10 PM   #13
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: US
Posts: 462
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper View Post
The Gens Ace Adventure battery is expensive for a budget brand like Gens Ace. But if it fits that's a lot of mAh in there.
Here's how I look at it. If it fits in the Capra, great...and, if it doesn't, I have at least three other vehicles that I know it will fit in.

~ More peace, love, laughter, & kindness would make the world a MUCH better place
Panther6834 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 02:05 AM   #14
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Definitely relevant to battery fitment: how/where are you guys routing your power connection to the esc? I've got a 2200mah 3s from Value Hobby that just squeezes into the tray, but the power wires must exit straight up since there's no room to tuck them into the battery tray. That hasn't been a problem for me yet since I haven't put the body on yet, but I need a tidier and better accessible solution than feeding it through the windshield! Do you just run it under the center of the tray, then loop it back into the battery compartment from the front?
TheLetterJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 07:08 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Norman
Posts: 3
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I have not got my Rig yet. Can I ask what is the max Length I can use to put inside this space for the Batter? I was looking at these packs from Promatch

3s (11.1V) 5200 mah 45C hardwired soft case lipo pack

https://promatchracing.com/product/3...ase-lipo-pack/

139mm, 5.47″ L x 45mm, 1.77″ W x 28mm, 1.10″ H

Thank you for your time. M
motorman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 07:26 AM   #16
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raleigh-ish vicinity
Posts: 3,305
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by motorman007 View Post
I have not got my Rig yet. Can I ask what is the max Length I can use to put inside this space for the Batter? I was looking at these packs from Promatch

3s (11.1V) 5200 mah 45C hardwired soft case lipo pack

https://promatchracing.com/product/3...ase-lipo-pack/

139mm, 5.47″ L x 45mm, 1.77″ W x 28mm, 1.10″ H
No way those packs are fitting.

Axial says the max size is 98mm x 47mm x 26mm but there is a couple mm extra space depending on how the wires exit the pack.
svt923 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 07:45 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Norman
Posts: 3
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by svt923 View Post
No way those packs are fitting.

Axial says the max size is 98mm x 47mm x 26mm but there is a couple mm extra space depending on how the wires exit the pack.
Thank you boss.

This is other idea. I know with some Sanwa radio people have wired up this

Panasonic 18650B 3400mah 3.7v Rechargeable Li-ion Battery

https://rcdude.com/panasonic-18650b-...ttery-2pc.html

Wire up 3 cells and it will save weight just a idea. Again thank you all.
motorman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 08:32 AM   #18
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2,465
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

I've been using a HobbyStar 3S 3700mah in my Element. It should fit the Capra as well.


Last edited by soze; 10-10-2019 at 08:38 AM.
soze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 08:58 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Norman
Posts: 3
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by soze View Post
I've been using a HobbyStar 3S 3700mah in my Element. It should fit the Capra as well.

Thanx sir
motorman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 11:42 AM   #20
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 474
Default Re: Capra Battery Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLetterJ View Post
Definitely relevant to battery fitment: how/where are you guys routing your power connection to the esc? I've got a 2200mah 3s from Value Hobby that just squeezes into the tray, but the power wires must exit straight up since there's no room to tuck them into the battery tray. That hasn't been a problem for me yet since I haven't put the body on yet, but I need a tidier and better accessible solution than feeding it through the windshield! Do you just run it under the center of the tray, then loop it back into the battery compartment from the front?
I plug mine in, then push the connectors and excess wire back through the gap between the back part of the battery tray and the cage...



Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
JSterrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
axial, battery, capra, lipo, official



Capra Battery Thread - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's this? Another battery thread? RubikonKid Axial SCX-10 26 12-02-2013 01:49 PM
another hot battery thread....sorry olvegrn Electronics 4 07-25-2013 09:24 PM
Battery question...yes, I read the battery thread...twice... MikeTJ Losi Micro-Rock Crawler 14 06-07-2011 08:44 PM
Battery Thread What to run? toy4crawlin Electronics 15 02-22-2007 11:57 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com