Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial RR10 Bomber

Notices

Thread: Need help with gearing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2020, 06:37 PM   #1

Default Need help with gearing

So I’m pretty new to rock crawling. I recently got a pretty good deal on a rr10 bomber and it came with the factory motor and a castle creations sidewinder 3 and 1406 4600kv and what I can assume is the stock gearing that came with the original rtr bomber. I’m not sure if the gearing is the right set up for the motor. Any help would be great. Today I ran 1 full battery and I’m assuming it got hot and went into thermal shutdown. I’m not really looking for speed I just want to be able to crawl around and if I need to still have a little speed.
Aaburke is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-01-2020, 07:13 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: Need help with gearing

that motor is a bit fast if crawling is your main goal. id recommended something around 2700kv to 3100kv for crawling. if thats not an option at this time and gearing is your only choice, the stock pinion is 12t and spur is 64t, going to around 10t pinion would help a bit. still id change that motor out for something slower.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
midwest_rippa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 08:44 PM   #3

I’ll have to check again and make sure that’s the correct kv i have
Old 03-01-2020, 09:13 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

You can get the hotracing 2 speed kit and just leave it is 1st gear, maybe add a cheap servo later. A 21turn trail master and a 9t pinion also. Maybe a new esc like a hobbywing 1080 for downhill control. If you bought it for rock crawling and going slow, does it still feel like a good deal? This is only like $130 but it will make a big difference.

I can't remember if a 550 motor fits right in or not. Ripped that transmission out years ago.
Voodoobrew is offline   Reply With Quote