Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: New guy introduction

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2009, 11:48 AM   #1

Default New guy introduction

Hi all, I'm new to the forums and I figured I'd introduce myself. I'm sixteen and just moved to East San Jose(if you're in the area I think I found a great crawl spot) I'm new to crawling but not R/C's, I've been driving R/C's for about six years now. Pardon any noobish things when it comes to my setup. So onto the stuff y'all wanna hear, I got an order in from TCS which consisted of an SCX10, a Novak Rooster, Integy 55 lathe, a Hitec 645MG and two four link plates for the front end. I'll be using the lathe or a Tamiya silver can. The four link plates were intended for the AX10 which is apparent but I believe I can use it in the rear and I shouldn't have any problems. I don't have any pictures of my truck or course yet but I will by this weekend but probably sooner. Now for the portion of me moving having any relation to anything, the house my family moved to is amazing for crawling, there are red rocks on the side of the driveway and small/medium stones around the edge of the yard and there is a bare strip of land that I can use. Yesterday I started work on this strip, I dug a water pit and a few different levels and then I put a plastic liner over the top and held it in place with some of the stones. Eventually I'll put pea gravel or something similar down and then the larger rocks on top. I also made a teeter totter just for kicks. As for the truck, while I was testing with a Tamiya TEU101-BK(I need Deans U.P. and solder ) I scuffed up the body pretty good so I am going to go wiht a sort of rusty/muddy look and make it look like a beat up truck. I've got some future plans for the truck as well, I spent an hour or so researching four wheel steering on real rigs and found a few older Chevy pickups, a few Jeep Cherokee's and