Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: TUTORIAL: Replace Drive Shaft Kit AX80011

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2009, 10:06 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default TUTORIAL: Replace Drive Shaft Kit AX80011

After owning my SCX10 TR for only about 4 hours I managed to break my driveshaft at the yoke.

I'm a complete newbie at this so I had no Idea how to fix this. I played around and finally figured out how to fix it. I wanted to post this tutorial to help anyone who has this problem. This guide should be completely Noob proof.
Step 1: Remove the (AX180) M3xM3mm Set Screw attached to the (AX30380) metal yoke. This will allow it to freely slide off.

Once you remove the screw the piece will fall free and become two pieces. We will work with one half in this tutorial.

Step 2: The next step involves disconnecting the (AX30380) metal yoke from the Drive Shaft (AX80011). I placed a pair of needle nose pliers in the opening where the shaft and yoke are connected.Then I open the pliers, pushing the plastic away from the pins. Make sure you put something over the pliers and yoke. Like a towel or anything so the yoke doesn't fly away.

Step 3: Now that your yoke is seperated from the shaft we are going to attach the new shaft. The new shaft can be tricky to get on. I have found that the best way to get the shaft and yoke connected is this way.

Insert your screw driver in the bottom half of the yoke so that the ball inside cannot rotate backwards and the pins catch on the screw driver.

Once you have this step you can get your yoke and align the one of the holes on the drive shafts with the pins.

Holding your screw driver in the same position and pulling with some pressure (dont worry its tough) the shaft towards it will result in it falling in place for one side.