Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Ready to purchase, need some advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2010, 08:17 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Ready to purchase, need some advice

I was ready to pick up my new SCX10 last weekend, and I was reading alot about RTRs and Kits. I am not new to R/Cs, but I am a noob to R/C crawlers. I have a slash 4x4 with mamba monster 2650, complete RPM suspention parts, bumpers, ect, crazy rig. I also have a 1:1 '94 wrangler that is trail ready that my dad and I built, so I know how this all works. I dont want a comp crawler, thats why I am choosing the SCX10, and I like the scale aspect. I just want a decent rig that will climb rocks and survive in water and pretty much handle what i can throw at it. From all Ive read, the RTR SCX10, I like the Honcho, would be perfect for me (with some electronics mods for waterproofing). But I had a few questions.

1. What are some good mods that will help preformance and my wallet. Ive heard about the Hand Bros steering kit, and proline shocks, and upgrading to metal links instead of plastic stock ones. Im fine with upgrading parts, thats what I did on my Slash.
2. I have a waterproof stock Traxxas Slash 4x4 ESC, and servo from my other R/C, would those work? I have a canal right behind my house and there are some real good wet rocky places to crawl. I heard somewhere that the stock SCX10 motor isnt waterproof, but some have had no problems with it in water.

Thats all I got so far, sorry for the long intro, I just want to make sure I do it right. please leave comments, questions, tips and hints, Thanks.
flascx10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-25-2010, 09:18 AM   #2
Rock Stacker