Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: sprung vs droop help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2012, 08:32 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default sprung vs droop help

ok im new to rc crawling i have a stock rtr honcho... what im wanting to know is what the difference is in the suspension setups? i know google will be my best friend some of yall say well ive searched for about 3 hrs and just get a bunch of nonsense...so if any of yall will shed some light on this it would help...pics would help of the differnet setups also
gsrcivic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-05-2012, 06:58 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: sprung vs droop help

Probably the easiest way to describe the difference is that sprung is what your stock honcho has right now. If you take the springs off your shocks that is droop. Some people actually put a spring inside the shock housing that pulls the shock to be fully compressed.
Here is my truck with a sprung shock setup...

Here is the same truck, same shocks just with the springs removed for a droop setup...

Hope that's what you were looking for.
Archangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 07:39 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

I have tried droop and sprung setups on a couple of my rides. The advantage of the droop is you have a lower center of gravity meaning you can side hill at a steeper angle, the disadvantage is your belly clearance is lower meaning your chassis could get hung up easier, and you have 0 up travel.
Currently all of my truck have sprung setup. My Scx10 has so much weight on it the suspension rides about 70% down compared to stock. I only have 1/4" of up travel left (this is called semi droop).
lonleycreeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 12:33 PM   #4
I joined the Band!