Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Help me setup for competition

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2012, 06:32 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Help me setup for competition

OK guys I am new to crawling but a veteran r/c guy. I want the ultimate comp scx10.

Here is what I have done so far, first I bought a rtr Honcho because that was all that was available.

Installed:
Mamba max pro full drag brake, instant reverse - no timing
castle 10amp bec
Upgraded servo (not great but better than stock)
added alum horn
3s 3200mah battery
17.5 novak ss motor - lowered the timing for more torque
Pitbull tires on axial beadlock rims on the front I added 3.5oz of weight to each front wheel I also added vent holes to the wheels. They hook up great

I left the stock wheels on the back so it gave me some front overdrive which helped with steering, this happened because one of the back rims was missing a bead lock ring

removed the shock bump stops

All in all it is quite capable but I am occasionally ripping a rear axle out

I also bought the axial high clearance steering blocks, but couldn't get them installed I need some new hardware for the steering links.

And I have some left over mip axial ax10 cvd's I am going to try, if they break I will get something else.

Ordered today
upgraded steering link setup Axial brand
1980 chevy proline truck body
hardware from mcmaster carr to upgrade my steering links and suspension
4mm and 8-32 threaded rod and revo rod ends, also delrin covers
ace ds1015 servo, its a monster and I know I like them
overdrive front heavy duty gear set (underdrive for the rear is out of stock)
mip center drivershafts
softer sprngs

Here are my questions:

What length links do I want? What is the best setup I can see I need to raise the pinion out of the axle it seems low to me.

What else do I need to upgrade?

What is the best setup on these stock shocks?