Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: SCX10 Newbie

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2012, 02:25 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default SCX10 Newbie

I'm new to the SCX10(and scale crawlers) but not new to RC.

I picked up a used Dingo and looking it over have some questions.
It's got a 27 turn motor, AS-2 servo, Rooster Crawler esc, 2200mah 2s lipo, 14/87 gearing, steel yokes on the trans outputs/diff inputs(not sure if this is stock, the rest of the driveshafts are plastic) and the battery relocated to the front. Also has aluminum suspension and steering links.

I am wondering how an XL-5 esc would do. I know it doesn't have a drag brake but the main reasons I'm thinking about putting it in is that it's waterproof and has the 50% training setting which is great for when my kids want to run it. I don't plan to compete with the truck otherwise I'd definitely keep the Rooster in it.

It has aluminum C's and rear lockouts but they are loose on the axle tubes; I assume this has happened to other people and I'm wondering if there's a fix besides getting new axle housings.

It's got 4 link suspension, I think that it originally came with the 3 link with the upper wishbone. Not sure what would be better, keeping it 4 link or putting it back to 3 link.

Looked at a CMS kit but from what I've read it's really just for appearance so plan to leave it on the axle for now.

It has some led lights in it but half them don't work. Would like to get the lights working again but probably will install my own LED's just wondering what the best way is to power them? Some sort of voltage regulator or resistors? I do have a Traxxas waterproof receiver box which I was planning to use for my rx(running a TQi radio) so I have some extra space in there for LED regulators/controllers depending how big it is.