Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Jkabee's "total noob" TJ build "this should be fun!"

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 06:46 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Jkabee's "total noob" TJ build "this should be fun!"

Hello to anyone and everyone that sees this post. Being a fan of RC for a long time, and a lurker on this site for over 2 years (i guess), I've decided, with much inspiration from the fantastic scalers you guys have built, to build my very own. I've owned a stock scx-10 in the past, but I've never built one, nor have I ever fabricated anything. So with that said, this is my "layman's attempt" at doing what you guys do so well, which is make one helluva cool scaler. I've reached out to Klabeaume for advice and tips because it was his old 1.9 TJ ( see below ) that ultimately drove me into spending the time and money to finally do this. [clap hands]. I do hope that anyone new to the hobby will join my escapades here for humored discussion and any "noob" tricks I can pass along. I also hope that some of you seasoned vets will subscribe and pass along advice, as I will be asking ALOT of questions during this build. In the end, I'm sure it will run, but I can't say it will be pretty. But alas my internet-RC brethren, it will be fun, even if only by you vets watching me make a fool of myself and spending $ the wife says we don't have to spend. So, let's get started. Here is a pic of Klabeaume's old TJ.. the source of my inspiration:
jkabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-23-2013, 06:57 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: Jkabee's "total noob" TJ build "this should be fun!"

So, with formal introductions out of the way, let's put the "plan" in place.