Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: New to RC world. How does this sound for a 1st rig?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2013, 03:06 PM   #1

Default New to RC world. How does this sound for a 1st rig?

Hello. like I said I'm new to the RC world. I've always liked them. Only had the cheap ones like from Radio Shack you get for Christmas. lol. Anyway I now want to get into this. I will be doing trail riding /crawling and just wanted some opinions from you people that know this stuff. So this is what I came up with. Are there better parts then I picked?

SCX10™ 2012 Jeep® Wrangler 1/10th Scale Electric 4WD - Kit

TT2105 Tekin FXR ESC Crawler Combo 35T Pro Motor

Futaba 3PL 3-Channel 2.4GHz FHSS w/R2004GF Receiver

Pit Bull Rock Beast 1.9 Scale Tires

Not really sure about battery and charger. Was thinking 11.1v, 2200mah, 35C/3C Lipo Pack. But not sure if that will work. Not sure on servos either. Have to research them a little more unless someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance for any and all help.

Todd

toddbuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-27-2013, 03:24 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: New to RC world. How does this sound for a 1st rig?

Looks like a great start.

3s 2200's packs work well in a scaler and are a good balance between weight and runtime. If max wheelspeed isn't much of a concern you can stick with 2s. I would say with a steering servo it's about how much you're willing to spend. The Hitec 7954SH is a good servo, or you can get the Hobbico branded CS-170 which is basically the same servo for ~$10 less. If you are looking at spending less, then a Hitec 625MG or digital version 5645MG should get you going. The Tekin is a great ESC, but it's internal BEC won't take too kindly to running 3s with a powerful steering servo so get yourself a Castle BEC.
05Fronty4x is offline   Reply With Quote