Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Steel wheels...not that impressed

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2013, 07:55 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Steel wheels...not that impressed

So first a few disclaimers....

Just observations....

I am new at crawling...and know there is a ton of experience here...so I know this is against conventional scaler wisdom....

I don't do comps, don't care about comps...I am a guy who is either doing the scale thing with the family or by myself as therapy for high stress....I will do a G6 this year...but only because I am curious and want to challenge myself. Adding points to my rig because I have steel and not plastic...not a concern.

I figure buying three SCX 10s are about the biggest investment, and not going to put several hundred dollars into a rig after I just spent a ober a grand for 3 rigs, controllers, batteries, etc.... I do upgrades, but performance in a comp is not the motivation.....

Today I got what I still feel is a good deal. Steel wheels and "broke in" tires for $30. They add weight I probably need to keep me in better contact when off-camber or when going up hill. I think I had a false sense of security with them on there, my battery drained much faster, moter ran much hotter, and the rig was much slower. I feel like adding wheels just means I have to have upgrades in other areas like servo, gearing, etc....just not going to chase the performane pony like that.

I noticed some improvements, but really I am happier with lighter wheels on the trail. Perhaps aluminum wheels like Axial beadlocks will be the best of both worlds.

I love looking at the builds on here...and guys really know how to put some awesome rigs together.... Perhaps I will save them for a custom build at a later point.
Attached Images

AdventureIQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-22-2013, 07:56 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper