Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Is there any easy way to take diffs apart after being installed?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2013, 02:33 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Exclamation Is there any easy way to take diffs apart after being installed?

Hello folks! I am new to the SCX10 and bought a used Wrangler. I want to get the diffs apart to check out all the gears and lockers. I know on the Wraith a person could get the diff gears out without having to drop them completely out of the rig. The Wraith has a nice big diff cover where all the goodies come out. I don't see that on the SCX10.

With the SCX10 do I have to go all out and remove everything to get inside? Especially the front diff? It seems like a lot of stuff will have to come off in order to get at the diff gears.

Just a little advice would be appreciated. I tried to search the subject but nothing came up.

I only have the pdf manual and sure it is easy to do from step 1...hehehe. But getting backwards to that step seems like lots of work. HELP PLEASE!!
ZippoMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-01-2013, 02:41 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Is there any easy way to take diffs apart after being installed?

The only way I see getting to the Ring & pinion gears out of a scx10 axle is to separate the halves.
That means at least the chubs have to come off.
Dostradamas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 02:49 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

Chubs - drive shaft and if you want lower shocks at the mount . Seperate the case . Did it many times in my sportsman .
hellbounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 03:58 PM   #4
RCC Addict

First of all you need to think of taking the diff apart as reliving the build experience, not being a pita.