RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Axial SCX-10 (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/axial-scx-10/)
-   -   Axial SCX10 build - My first kit. (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/axial-scx-10/475145-axial-scx10-build-my-first-kit.html)

electricrc68 12-25-2013 08:44 AM

Axial SCX10 build - My first kit.

Well guys, I've started my SCX10 kit build that I got for christmas! This is my first kit, and since I'm new to all this, the thread won't have any build "recommendations" or anything, and will mainly be newb questions...oh, I'll also post pictures along the way of the build and obviously the final product! So...my first question:

I have run into a problem already! :cry: The bearings for the axles don't seem to be seating in all the way. When I try screwing it shut, its a VERY tight fit, and the plastic doesn't go around the bearing. Any way I can fix this?

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7413/1...93461908_c.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7322/1...9763a460_c.jpg

Johnnysplits 12-25-2013 09:11 AM

Re: Axial SCX10 build - My first kit.

I had the exact same problem with my kit. The housings came out of the package warped. Heat gun them back square, buy a new set, or be careful when screwing together so as to not bind up the gears. After you assemble the axle, you should be able to turn the pinion shaft with zero resistance.

FastEddy 12-25-2013 09:14 AM

This my help you with your build.
Its for the Honcho but will get you through most of it.
your about 1 week early for my G6 build series.
Build The Axial SCX-10 Honcho Page by Page - YouTube

My G6 Axles were just like that. Once I screwed the other half on it was just fine.
Be careful if you try to heat it up. Its all good until it isnt. It can go SOUTH REAL QUICK. :cry:

old man 52 12-25-2013 09:18 AM

Leave the axles out and put the case together but don't tighten the bolts down all the way , then slide your axials and bearing in from the sides.

electricrc68 12-25-2013 09:19 AM