Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: My JKL wrangler build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2014, 03:51 PM   #1

Default My JKL wrangler build

Hi guys!

I am new to RC, and I am planning to buy a dingo kit to start my build since I know I'm gonna have to replace multiple parts. I have a co-worker who knows a lot about the RC/scale world and gave me some tips, but if you have any information that could be usefull, feel free to share.

So my project is to build that dingo in my dream rig based on my real jk, mostly how i want it to be in the end.

I came across the ebay hardbody jk that has so much details, just perfect for my project. since the wheelbase of the scx10 chassis is a little longer, this body is perfect for the JKL conversion

FYI, JKL wranglers is a conversion made by kustom koack works in arizona, which consist of stretching the jk body 10" and the possibility to stretch the rear suspension of 3" more, for a total of 108" instead of 95". www.jklwrangler.com

So here's the body, if you have any trick to share for the body work, please share! I'm gonna cut it right behind the doors, just like the real thing.

High End Scale Jeep Body for 1 10 Axial SCX10 Land Rover D90 RC4WD RC Crawler | eBay

This body does not have a cage, so I'm gonna have to either build one, or try to re-use the dingo cage. I would prefer building a steel cage though. Found this link to help.

SCALE TUBE FABRICATION

I would also like to put on this body, the poison spyder fenders, if possible.

A guy on wayalife forum have this body and told me that I will need a low profile tranny since the body has an interior. He suggested the rc4wd one. Don't know which one to go with though. Would it be worth it going with a two speed or should it stick to a single speed?