Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Binding Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2014, 08:11 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Binding Question

Sorry to ask, but im still a noob at this crawling stuff.

I have an scx10 honcho and have 2.2 tires. I want to put on a lift kit and have read that your drive shafts might bind up.

What exactly does that mean? When you guys say they will bind?

Thanks
123nanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-05-2014, 09:38 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Binding Question

When any type of u-joint/cvd on a shaft is forced past its limits, funny things will happen.
Meatwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 09:55 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder

Binding is when one component hits another or as the previous poster said, when the component is pushed past its limit for instance if your driveshafts are put at too steep an angle such as /-\ the yokes at the end will bind, that is, they won't move as they are supposed to because they are being pushed past their limits. So, either they will break or they will move but awkwardly and cause some problem elsewhere- with the driveshafts being at too steep an angle which can be cause by lifting the truck TOO high, the binding will cause the axles to hop with every driveshaft revolution (or) as i said, something will snap. So basically if what i said is still confusing you, binding means the component will not perform smoothly as it is supposed to..
Basically, keep in mind 2.2 wheels will be taller then stock 1.9s so already the axles will be at a steeper angle, and raising the truck on top of this will increase this, now you can combat this but that will involve clocking the axle and/or increasing link length to decrease the steepness of your driveshafts.. and that you can surely find info on in this forum