Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Finishing up my dingo roller

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2014, 11:04 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Finishing up my dingo roller

Since it's finally warming up, it's tax return time and my B-day is coming up I need to finish my dingo roller. It's all built minus electronics and paint. I've done some searching so I have an idea of what I should get but I do have some questions.

Steering servo is my biggest question. There are a lot of opinions and a large price gap. While I won't say money is not an option if spending more will lessen my chances of eating servos that would sway my choice. I've eaten too many on my RC18 and Revo VXL, I don't need to on the SCX. I'm also new to crawling so I'm a little in the dark. I know metal gears are a must. Hitec seems to be one of the favorite ones on here. Do I really need to spend $130 on a servo? If I go with a 645MG will I be replacing it all the time or not have enough torque to turn in some situations? Will a new digital servo even work with my old Futaba controller? I'd give the model but I forgot exactly what one it is and I'm at work. I wasn't planning on getting a new radio. With 2x traxxas ones and 3x AE ones I'd rather not get another until I need a 4+ channel one.

ESC. Seems Holmes is the way to go with Castle and Tekin as runners up. Since they offer ESC/motor combos the choice is probably Holmes. I just don't know what wind to get. I have other cars for my speed fix but I don't want something that runs at a snail's pace.

I figure on going with LiPos but I haven't really read up on them. Any advice there is welcome.

I know I'm forgetting something but working and posting you kinda loose track. I'll post up what controller I have when I get home later.

Thanks for any and all help. Even the search n00b posts.
Farabomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links